I am an Addict

My name is Gill and I am an addict. Now before you go and judge me, hear me out. I was sitting in church this past weekend and the Lord spoke to me, “Look around. You are surrounded by a bunch of addicts.” I looked over a couple of rows and saw someone who was clearly addicted to food but beyond that I didn’t see anything unusual. He said, “There are those addicted to laziness, addicted to unforgiveness, addicted to bitterness, addicted to gossip, addicted to negativity, addicted to pride, addicted to selfishness.”

I don’t have to go to the county jail to find addicts. Sin is sin. God sees no difference, but when the sin is socially acceptable, are we really desperate to break from the addiction? The enemy of  change is complacency. Let’s be addicted to the Word of God. We need a desire that is so strong nothing can keep us from it. Let’s experience a new fire in our spiritual life.

My eternal destiny depends on the truth in the Bible. If I can’t believe what it says on other topics, can I depend on salvation? Nearly every year we hear of powerful hurricanes that batter some part of the east coast. (We live in Washington State so we only hear about them.) Mat 7:24-27 tells us, “If Gill therefore hears these words of Mine, and does them, I will liken him to a wise man, who built his house on a rock.The rain came down, the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat on that house; and it didn’t fall, for it was founded on the rock. If Gill hears these words of Mine, and doesn’t do them, he will be like a foolish man, who built his house on the sand. The rain came down, the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat on that house; and it fell — and great was its fall.” Storms will come in life. It doesn’t matter how big the mansion is, how many rooms, how many crystal chandeliers it contains, if it is built on the wrong foundation it will fall. The smallest, poorest shack, if built on rock, will be able to stand.

Rom 10:17 tells us faith comes by hearing the Word. There are 168 hours in a week. If I spend an hour in church on Sunday but then the other 167 hours listening to Oprah, Dr. Phil, The Simpsons or something else from the world, what result can I expect? In Matthew 4:1-11, Jesus was led by the Holy Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. How did that temptation come? Satan twisted Scripture. But Jesus knew the Word and could combat every half-truth. We need that same foundation on the rock to withstand Satan’s lies.

Isaiah 54:17 says, “‘No weapon that is formed against Gill will prevail; and Gill will condemn every tongue that rises against him in judgment.  This is Gill’s heritage as a servant of the Lord, and his righteousness which is of Me,’ says the Lord.” I can stand and be victorious. That is God’s promise.

One of my favorite cartoon strips is Pickles. In one strip Earl, the old grandfather, staggers into the bathroom one morning, looks in the mirror and says, “Agh!!… Oh, I forget. I’m old, I’m supposed to look like that.” I am at an age where the face I see in the mirror is a whole lot older than the way I picture myself.

When I read that cartoon, I am reminded of James 1:19-25: “So, then, let Gill be swift to hear, slow to speak, and slow to anger; 20for Gill’s anger doesn’t produce the righteousness of God. 21Therefore, putting away all filthiness and overflowing of wickedness, Gill should receive with humility the implanted word, which is able to save his soul. 22But Gill must be a doer of the word, and not only a hearer, deluding himself. 23For if Gill is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man beholding his natural face in a mirror; 24for he sees himself, and goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was. 25But when Gill looks into the perfect law, the law of freedom, and continues, not being a hearer who forgets but a doer of the work, Gill will be blessed in what he does.” Let’s look at this passage in detail:

  1. Quick to listen. Vs 19 In order to listen I first must be quiet. Obviously, I can’t listen if I’m talking. If I am busy whining and complaining or having a pity party, I cannot hear God. In 1Kings 19 Elijah has had a great victory over the prophets of Baal. He even outran a chariot, but then Jezebel threatened to kill him and he ran. God led him to Mt. Horab and promised to speak to him there. A great wind tore the mountain, then an earthquake, then fire swept the mountain, but God was not in any of those. He was in the still, small voice that followed the chaos. Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still and know that I am God.” To listen we must be still.
  2. Get rid of evil. Vs 21 Harboring evil keeps me from hearing. The Parable of Sower talks about the farmer casting seed on different types of soil. The focus of the story is not the farmer, it is not the seed. The focus is the soil. What kind of soil am I for the Word to take root in? I want to prepare the ground and pull the weeds so I am ready to receive.
  3. Humility. Vs 21 The Word shows me my new self. 1Cor 5:17 tells me I am a new creation in Christ. I can choose whether I will look at the defeat of the past or who I am in Christ. I believe that is where a daily devotional helps. If I take time daily to come humbly to the Word, it will change me. If I “work” the Word by believing it, my life will be different.
  4. Respond with action. Vs 22 I must choose to do what it says. Do I really want my life to be different? It’s not just knowing, but doing that will change my destiny. It is not important how much I read but what impact are the Scriptures I read having on how I live. Reading the Bible is worthless if it is not turned into action.
  5. Intently. Vs 25 Blessing does not come automatically. Josh 1:8 says, “This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.” Let’s read that backwards. “Success good have will you then and…” Just kidding. We are going to look point by point, backwards. Prosperous and successful: who doesn’t want that, but how do I get there? Well, backup. “Observe to do” brings success. How will I do that? Meditate day and night. So am I to sit in the corner with my legs crossed and hum? Not! Backup one last time: “This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth.” Biblical meditation is speaking, repeating, memorizing. That is the path to success.
  6. Blessed. Vs 25 The product of following the Word and living the Word is blessing and freedom. John 8:32 promises “The truth shall set you free.” I’ll take it. How? By choosing to act like who the Word says I am.

 In Ezek. 37:1-12, the Lord takes Ezekiel to a field of dry bones and commands him to speak to the bones. As he did, the bones came together, flesh came on the bones and life returned. There may be areas of our lives that seem dead but as we speak the Word and live the Word we will see life breathed into our lives.

 We are approaching the Christmas season. What happens after Christmas? Everybody goes out and returns the gifts they don’t like. I am gifted by God. The thing is God’s gifts can’t be returned or exchanged. God has called me to fulfill His purpose and He has gifted me with what I need to reach that end. In John 15:5, Jesus says, “I am the vine. Gill is a branch. If Gill remains in Me, and I in him, he will bear much fruit, for apart from Me, Gill can do nothing.” As I grow in the gifts that God has given me, as I fulfill His call, I experience His presence.

 Col 2:6-7 says “As Gill received Christ Jesus, his Lord, he must walk in Him, rooted and built up in Him, and established in the faith, even as Gill was taught, abounding in it with thanksgiving.” As I sink my roots deep into the Word, I have the foundation to build, I have the strength for the storm, I have vision for eternity.

 I choose to have my ears open. I choose to have my heart prepared. Are you ready to be blessed? Are you ready for freedom? Are you ready for new fire? Let’s become addicted to the Word.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “I am an Addict”


  1. Great insight. It’s so easy to see big faults or problems that other people have, but we need to look at our own daily lives and see where we fall short, even in the things that seem little to us. Good advice.


Leave a Reply

