Breastplate of Righteousness

The devil is not intimidated by what I am on the outside, only who I am on the inside. To defeat him, it better be the right stuff. My attitude needs to be that I am the head not the tail, above only and not beneath. (Deut. 28:13) My strength comes from God, not myself. (Eph. 6:10) Acts 19 tell the story of the sons of Sceva. They tried to cast a demon out by saying, “In the name of Jesus whom Paul preaches…” but it was just a religious ritual, something they read out of a book. The devil jumped on them and sent them out bloody and naked. “I go to church.” So what! “I’ve got a Bible right here.” So what! What is on the inside? Stand up for your position in Christ that Jesus died to give you. 

 My focus today is on the breastplate of righteousness. (Eph. 6:14) This is a message that changed my life. Most people serve God out of guilt. To them it is fire insurance. They see God’s acceptance based on performance. If I do everything right God will accept me, but I can never meet that standard. My righteousness is like filthy rags before God. (Isa. 64:6) All have sinned and fallen short of His glory. (Rom. 3:23) If I try to live based on performance, the enemy runs rampant in my life, bringing bondage and condemnation. When I grasped the revelation that in Christ I am righteous before God, my spiritual walk moved to a whole new level.

 Two Scripture verses you must have in your arsenal: First, Romans 8:1: “There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.” I stand before God with no guilt or condemnation. Yes, I blow it. Yes, I have failed in the past and doubtless will again in the future. But my standing before God is not based on my deeds, not based on following a long list of do’s and don’ts. My standing before God is based on what Jesus did. I will never be more righteous than I am today. I will grow in holiness but righteousness was established when I made Jesus Lord of my life. I am His workmanship in Christ Jesus created for good works NOT by good works. (Eph. 2:10)

 We live in a works based society. When we meet someone new the first questions are: “What is your name? What kind of work do you do?” We tend to bring that into our relationship with God. Is the cross not enough? Abraham believed and that brought right standing. (Gal. 3:6) His righteousness was not based on a bunch of good works. No one is justified by the law. (Gal. 3:11) Works do not have the ability to set me free. I am a friend of God. (John 15:14) What the law could not do Jesus has accomplished. I am a new creation in Christ (2Cor. 5:17), not a dirty rotten sinner. Yes, I must deal with sin but the real me inside is no longer under guilt or condemnation.

 Second key verse, 2Cor. 5:21: “For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.”  That is the key. Don’t continue to rehearse sins of the past. We may still reap the harvest but that sin is under the blood. God is not bringing up past sin. Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow. (Isa. 1:18) We have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. (Rom. 5:1) Work of righteousness quietness and assurance forever. (Isa. 32:17) That is the power of the Gospel. Every other religion is performance, do’s and don’ts. Too often Christian teachings are perverted to rules of performance. It is bondage. Religion cleans up the outside but misses the heart. Follow the path of the world; seek to satisfy the desire of the flesh; listen to the devil’s voice. Where will it lead?

 Stand fast therefore in the liberty by which Christ has made us free, and do not be entangled again with a yoke of bondage. (Gal. 5:1) If I am in bondage I need to look at my beliefs. Don’t take on a yoke of religious bondage. Try to be justified by law and you are estranged from Christ, fallen from grace. (Gal. 5:4) The enemy wants to destroy your freedom. If I see myself on God’s bad list, I won’t try to come to Him. He is not a heavenly Santa Claus with a naughty and nice list. In Luke 15 the parable of the prodigal son shows us the character of the Father. Despite everything the son had done, the father was there with open arms, forgiveness and restoration. Get confident in your relationship with Him.

 The effect of righteousness is victory over accusations. (Isa. 32:17) “Who do you think you are? Look at your past.” No, remember what Christ has done. God is faithful to forgive and to cleanse. (1John1:9)  Let the guilt fall away and step into liberty. Is this too good to be true? Satan wants you to think so. It is time to put on the breastplate of righteousness and stand your ground. It is time to step out of the tomb of guilt, shame and condemnation. If God be for me, who can be against me? (Rom. 8:31)  Because of what Jesus has done, we can come boldly before the throne of grace. (Heb. 4:16)

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian, Freedom, in Christ

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Breastplate of Righteousness”

  1. peter Says:

    marvellous article

  2. savedbygrace Says:

    amen!

    having a secured heart is what Jesus wants for us.
    “Let not your heart be troubled”

    the breastplate of righteousness, is simply “we are established in Jesus righteousness” and it is by faith not works

    that righteousness protects our heart from condemnation

    the devil’s fiery darts are -> condemnation, reminding you of sins and faults. accusing you. he is the accuser of the brethren

    but if God is our justice and justifier , who can condemn us?
    by the blood of Jesus, God made us righteous, righteously! amen!

    grace and peace

  3. Sharon Says:

    By faith in his grace (Jesus) are we saved and not of our selves by our good works least any man should boast. To God be the glory for sending us his love (Jesus). He alone redeemed us from the curse with his own blood. Thanh u Jesus.


  4. I seldom leave a response, but I read a great deal of
    comments here Breastplate of Righteousness | Personal Promise
    Bible’s Blog. I do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be just me or do a few of these responses appear like they are left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online social sites, I’d like
    to keep up with anything new you have to post.
    Could you post a list of the complete urls of all your public sites like your
    Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?


Leave a Reply

