Counterfeit

Counterfeit – the world accepts the devil’s counterfeit. Like a mirage, it disappears. The devil is all trick and no treat. Heb 11:25 Sin is pleasurable for a season. Go fishing. The bait must hide the hook. Looks great, immediate pleasure, but Satan twists the truth and hides the consequences. World shows the beginning not the ending.

 1Peter 5:8 Be sober, be vigilant. The devil is a roaring lion. The trap of sin is like a mousetrap. Misery loves company and the king of misery is Satan.

 John 10:10 Satan has a job description: kill, steal, destroy. You don’t have a friend in the devil. He wants to get you off the path. Phil 3:13-14 Keep your eye on the prize.

Jesus’ job description: to bring abundant life here and now. Influence marriage, finances, every area. Deut 30:19 choose life. I have a choice. I don’t like my life. I need to make different choices. Abundant life is always in my connection to Father God. Luke 15:11-32 Prodigal son lost abundant life when he broke connection with his father.

Want to unlock the door to abundant life?

1. Remain under authority. Governed by the Word of God. Pride wants to be in control. John 15:4-5 The life is in the vine. Apart from God I can do nothing.

2. Live within boundaries. The world’s freedom leads to addictions and bondage. Gal 5:13 liberty is not an occasion for the flesh. 1Cor 6:12 Msg. “Just because something is technically legal doesn’t mean that it’s spiritually appropriate. If I went around doing whatever I thought I could get by with, I’d be a slave to my whims.” Not every choice will benefit my life.

3. Flows through fellowship with God. Live like the world lives and get what the world gets. Gal 6:8 Sow to the flesh and reap corruption. Mat 6:31-33 Dependence on God not the world.

 Repentance: turn around. Even if you get dizzy, keep turning.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian, in Christ

Leave a Reply

