Righteousness Consciousness

2Cor 10:5 Bring every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ. One thought can change your life. Where you are today started with a thought. Thought -> Action -> Habit -> Destiny Proverbs 23:7 “As a man thinks in his heart so is he.” Adultery starts with a thought. Addiction starts with a thought. Relapse starts with a thought. DUI starts with a thought. The thought that changed my life: Righteousness, aware of right standing before God.

Pastor Doug: “You cannot consistently act in a way inconsistent with how you see yourself.” What is the purpose of dating, truth comes out. Who would say (no hands): “I am an addict.” “I am an alcoholic.” “I am a sinner.” 2 Cor 5:17 “I am a new creation.”

John 8:32 “you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” It’s the truth that you know that will set you free. Are you receiving freedom from the truth of Romans 5:19? Not if you don’t know what it says. Rom 5:19 “For as by one man’s disobedience many were made sinners, so also by one Man’s obedience many will be made righteous.” It’s not something I am trying to become. I am. The Enemy preys on a sense of guilt. Accuser: “Look at what you’ve done.” God: “Look at who you are.” Adam hid because of sin. Are you hiding from God? Jesus delivered you from guilt. Receive it.

It’s a free gift. Romans 3:28 a man is justified by faith apart from the deeds of the law. Eph 2:8-9 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God– not by works, so that no one can boast.

2 Cor 5:21 For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

Heb 4:16 Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

Heb 10:22-23 let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.

1Peter 2:24 who Himself bore our sins in His own body on the tree, that we, having died to sins, might live for righteousness–by whose stripes you were healed.

Rom 6:18 having been set free from sin, you became a servant of righteousness.

When I see myself differently, I begin to act differently. “I’m not perfect, language, lustful thoughts, smoking. I am a sinner.” No! You may sin but your nature is now that of righteousness. 1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins he is faithful and just to forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

Declarations:

I am a new creation. 2Cor 5:17

I am the righteousness of God in Christ. 2Cor 5:21

I am set free from sin. Romans 6:18

I am a servant of righteousness. Romans 6:18

I come boldly to the throne of grace. Hebrews 4:16

I am cleansed by the blood of Jesus. 1John 1:7

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian, in Christ

Leave a Reply

