Traits of a Warrior

Name someone you’d consider a warrior or a winner. What characteristics do they have? (focus, determination (can do), no quit, believe they can win, etc.

The death of our son, Paul

A. Holy Spirit had given me 3 words that I spoke daily prior to Paul’s death. They were — overcomer, victorious, and more than a conqueror.

B. After Paul’s death, everyone was giving me this “poor you” you’re a victim, garbage. I had been speaking for months that I was victorious, an overcomer and more than a conqueror therefore; the victim mentality, didn’t cut it with me.

C. Because of what I had been speaking, that’s what I believed. Matt 12:34: “For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.”

D. Examples from your own personal life.

E. We’re going to look at some Scriptures that will show what a winner/warrior thinks. This is what Pastor Ryan was talking about yesterday when he said we needed a healthy self-image according to God’s Word.

1. I Cor 9:24 “Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it.”

2. Rom 8:35-37 “Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?  As it is written: “For Your sake we are killed all day long; We are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.”  Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.” NKJV

3. 2 Cor 2:14 “ Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ,” NKJV

4. Phil 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” 2 Cor 4:8-9 “We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed — “ NKJV

5. We need to stop seeing ourselves as small, weak and defeated. It’s what we truly believe on the inside that is going to be revealed by our words and actions.

F. Our victory is only in Christ. Just as Pastor Ryan was teaching us yesterday.

1. 1 John 4:4 “You are of God, little children, and have overcome them, because He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.”

2. Negativity, cynicism and criticism are symptoms of inner defeat.

3. God’s Word is designed to develop the mentality of a winner in us.

4. Death to the thinking of the old man of weak and defeated was broken on the cross with Jesus.

5. Now it’s my responsibility to change my thinking by changing my speaking to agree with God’s Word.

G. The winner’s/warrior’s attitude will direct and motivate our path. It will pull us through the apparent roadblocks and detours that the enemy will throw our way.

H. If you say, well I really haven’t decided, I just let life take its course, you’ve really already decided to have a loser’s mentality.

1. The winner’s mentality is the narrow way. Jesus said in Matt 7:13-14 “Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it.  Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.”

2. If you don’t consciously and on purpose define and speak the mentality of a winner or the narrow way, you have unconsciously chosen the loser’s mentality or the wide way.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian

One Comment on “Traits of a Warrior”


  1. I dont know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley


Leave a Reply

